Fish Tacos and Sweet Corn with Cilantro-Lime Butter

  Hi there, again!  It’s a stormy, summer night here in the desert.  I love when it storms.  It gives us some short-lived relief from our scorching and humid monsoonal heat. ⚡️☔️⚡️

With our normal daily high temperatures between 105 and 115 degrees, I really love to give Hubby some “grill duty”.  It helps, a little bit, to keep the house from feeling like the last part of Mr Toad’s Wild Ride at Disneyland. 🔥

There are so many meals that can be made using the grill, but I have to say that some sort of grilled meat, poultry or fish for tacos is probably my favorite.  Add some corn on the cob to the grill and…you have heaven on a dinner plate!

I absolutely love fish tacos, but I have found that most restaurants serve fish tacos with breaded, fried fish.  I prefer un-breaded and grilled fish for my tacos, so I order something else while out to dinner and make fish tacos at home.

I get my fish “grill ready” early in the day and store in the fridge to allow the flavors to marry.  Here’s how I flavor my fish…use in the amounts you need to get the flavor you would like…

Ingredients:

  • Any kind of fish you like to grill (I like to use some kind of white fish)
  • Green onions (I thinly slice the bulbs and up into the green about an inch or so)
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • Fresh jalapeno, sliced
  • Old Bay seasoning
  • Lime juice

  Directions:

  1. Place half of the green onion, cilantro and jalapeno in the bottom of a baking dish or storage container suitable for the fridge.
  2. Sprinkle some Old Bay and lime juice on top, then add fish.
  3. Add the remaining green onions, cilantro and jalapeno on top of the fish and sprinkle with the Old Bay and lime juice.
  4. Cover and refrigerate until ready to grill.
  5. Grill according to the type of grill you have and fish you are using.

  I love to use toasted corn tortillas and lettuce or cabbage and chopped grape tomatoes for my fish tacos.  Top with some cilantro-lime dressing and a lime wedge and you have an awesome fish taco.  YUM!

  For the sweet corn with cilantro-lime butter…again, use the amounts you need to get the flavor you would like…

Ingredients:

  • Grilled ears of sweet corn
  • Melted butter
  • Chopped cilantro
  • Lime juice
  • Cocula seasoning  (or a mixture of chili powder and salt)

Directions:

Mix the butter, cilantro, lime juice and Cocula and drizzle over the grilled corn. 

 
This such a yummy, feel-good summer dinner. Enjoy! ❤️

  

Leave a Reply

