Apple Jacks Cookies

  Yep!  That’s right.  Apple Jacks Cookies.  I know, I know, it sounds a little on the goofy side.  Actually, a lot on the goofy side.

When my sons left a few weeks ago to visit their Dad and Stepmom for the summer, a mostly full box of Apple Jacks was left behind in the pantry.  My hubby, daughter and I aren’t real big Apple Jacks fans, so they would have gotten stale if I didn’t do something with them.

So before I put them in a Ziploc bag to preserve them, I thought I would try something a little different.  I needed to make some cookies.  Okay, okay, I didn’t NEED to make cookies, I wanted to make some cookies. šŸ˜„ I figured I would try to use some of the cereal in some type of a cookie.

What kind of cookie would you add cereal to?  A cake mix cookie, of course!  I absolutely love cake mix cookies!  No, they aren’t a culinary delicacy, that’s for sure.  But they are definitely a great go-to when you don’t have a lot of time to spare…not to mention very inexpensive.  I always purchase the cake mix and cereal on sale and with coupons at my local supermarket.

These are so quick and easy, but so moist and yummy!

Ingredients: 

 

  • 1 box of white cake mix
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups Apple Jacks, broken but not crushed

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix cake mix, canola oil and eggs in mixing bowl by hand.
  3. Add cereal and stir gently to mix.  
  4. Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheets.  
  5. Bake until just done, about 10-12 minutes.
  6. Cool slightly before removing from cookie sheet.  

Makes about 2 dozen yummy cookies.  My daughter and I really don’t care for Apple Jacks, but we couldn’t stay away from them!

The best thing?  There are so many cake mix and cereal flavors that your options are endless!  Go ahead, get creative!  These are definitely a kid (and Hubby) pleaser!

Enjoy! ā¤ļø

Leave a Reply

