Homemade Hand Scrub

IMG_4430[1]

Hi there, friends!  I’m here today posting about some homemade hand scrub I put together the other day with ingredients that I had on βœ‹hand βœ‹at home. 😊

I came into this world with two very definite natural-born traits…very curly hair and very dry skin.  Over the years, I have learned how to tame both of these traits.  Most definitely, by far, my dry skin has been the easiest of the two to tame!  Lol.

One of the best things (besides great lotion) I have found to help treat my dry skin has been exfoliating scrubs.  But I learned quite quickly that with the amount and frequency my skin needed, it would be costly to use the store-bought varieties.  Since my family lives on a very modest income, I needed to find something that was less expensive.

I saw different recipes for body scrub in magazines (this was before I discovered Pinterest) πŸ™‚ and found an idea of where to start.  I’ve been using my body scrub for several years and love it!  (I’ll share my recipe in a  future post)

Since my body scrub works so well, I decided to work on a scrub that I could use on my hands.  With five people in the house and no dishwasher, my hands are constantly dry even with lotion, so I need to exfoliate them more often.  I wanted something that I could make a large batch that wouldn’t go bad or need refrigeration.

As usual, I searched Pinterest, but didn’t really come across a recipe that I fancied.  So I decided to experiment.  I knew that I wanted some soap, oil and grit.  Soap so that it could be a cleansing scrub, oil for deep and lasting moisture and grit to scrub away the dry skin particles.

After playing with the amounts, here’s what I came up with…

You’ll need:

  

  • 3 cups of Epsom salts 
  • 1/2 cup moisturizing liquid hand soap 
  • 1/4 cup baby oil
  • Jar or container to store scrub

This is so easy to do:

  1. Stir the salts, soap and oil together until mixed in medium bowl. 
  2. Pour scrub mixture into jar for storage. 

That’s it!  This recipe made enough scrub to fill two of the pictured jars.  As it sits, you will need to stir or shake to mix, as the oil will rise to the top.

 This scrub works great and is so inexpensive to make!!  All the supplies can be purchased at Dollar Tree or Walmart.  I just used what I had on hand and the jar was a recycled candle jar from Bath & Body Works. 

  

Leave a Reply

