El Pato Pulled Pork

  

Hi there again!  I’m back with a new recipe that I used for my pulled pork this week.  For years, I have used regular ol’ BBQ sauce and it tastes great. Seriously…How can you go wrong with a BBQ pulled pork?  

While I love ❤️ BBQ pulled pork, I was feeling like I wanted to “change it up a little”, so I went looking through other BBQ sauce recipes. I saw lots of great recipes, but I wanted something a little different than what I was finding.  So, I came up with my “El Pato” based recipe. 

El Pato is basically a very simple salsa that I use in place of tomato sauce for most of my cooking.  Here in Southern California, we can find it in any grocery store in the Hispanic food section/aisle.  If you can’t find it where you live, Rotel would work as well. 

First, you’ll need to make the sauce…

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup finely minced onion
  • 2 cups vinegar
  • 2 (7 3/4 oz) cans El Pato
  • 1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 teaspoons sugar 
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne 

  Directions:

  1. Melt the butter over medium heat in a saucepan. 
  2. Sauté the onions until they start to turn golden, approximately 6-8 minutes. 
  3. Add the remaining ingredients and reduce the heat to low. 
  4. Simmer for about 20 minutes. 

While your sauce is simmering, go ahead and put your pork roast (I use a boneless picnic roast) in your crockpot.  After your sauce is finished, pour about one cup of the sauce into the crockpot with the roast. Cook on low for about 4 hours or until fully done.  

Remove the pork roast from the crockpot and “pull”; I use two forks to pull the roast apart.  I discard the remaining sauce from cooking the pork.  Place the pork back into the crockpot and add the remaining sauce, about three cups, to the crockpot. 

Heat on low for 30 minutes to an hour. Serve on buns, tortillas, cornbread or anything else you may have on hand. My favorite is a broiled garlic-cheese bread roll!  Yum!

  
This is such a versatile dish.  The first round, we had pulled pork sandwiches (obviously). 😄  For the second round, I added some homemade refried beans and made burritos. Finally, to finish off the last bit of the pork, I topped a bowl of the pork with a fried egg for hubby’s breakfast. 🍳

With three meals out of one dish, this is certainly very kind on the food budget as well!

Enjoy ❤️

Leave a Reply

