Mexican Pasta Salad

  

Happy Independence Day! ๐ŸŽ‰ We are very blessed to live in a country that allows us the freedom we have. ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ

I don’t know about you, but for me, an Independence Day meal isn’t complete without some kind of pasta or macaroni salad.  It doesn’t matter what kind, just as long as I have pasta salad.  

I love making pasta/macaroni salads because there is so much “freedom” in what you can do.  Did you catch that?  Okay, okay, I’ve amused myself, now back to what I was talking about. You can put all kinds of ingredients into a pasta salad and make it taste great. I have made so many different kinds because I, often times, use what’s left in the fridge or pantry.

I created this concoction from ingredients I had left over from a “Taco Tuesday” night ๐Ÿ˜„.  I don’t measure ingredients for most dishes that aren’t baked goods, so the amounts are just an estimation. Use what “looks good” to you and have fun experimenting with your own concoction!

Ingredients:

  

  • 1 box any shape whole grain pasta 
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed 
  • 1/2 bag frozen corn
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1/2 container grape tomatoes, chopped 
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 jalapeรฑo, minced 
  • 1 cup (approximately) mayonnaise, maybe more, remember the pasta will “soak up” the liquid while chilling so you want it to look like there’s a little too much 
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Cocula (season to your taste)
  • Pepper (season to your taste) 

Directions:

  1. Start your pot of water to boil for pasta. Cook pasta just to “al dente”. This will help it hold up in the salad.
  2. Chop your vegetables while waiting for the pasta to cook.   
  3. After your pasta is cooked and drained, add the corn, beans and veggies.   
  4. Add the mayonnaise, lime juice, colcula and pepper. Stir carefully to mix. 
  5. Store in a covered container and let chill in the fridge for several hours.   Enjoy! โค๏ธ
Leave a Reply

