Yummy “Neopolitan” Layer Cake

  

🍰 I love cake!  Birthday cake, wedding cake, “just because it’s Monday cake”, any type of cake…I just love cake! 🍰  And frosting!! Buttercream frosting. Thick, creamy, sugary frosting.  Yum!!

Are you hungry for cake yet?  I know I am! 🍰

Over the past few years, “naked” cakes have popped up all over the place. You see pins featuring them all over Pinterest.  There are so many ways to create these naked cakes, from pure and simple to very elegant.  Obviously, from the picture, you can see that I go with the more simple approach. Hopefully, when I become more skilled and confident, I will work toward the more elegant end of the spectrum. 

This “Neopolitan” (named by my sons) cake is very simple to make, but don’t let the simplicity fool you, it is delicious!!  It’s a great dessert to serve with company, and you don’t even have to try to hide the grocery store packaging πŸ˜„!  I even served a couple versions of this cake for my small wedding reception and I had nothing but compliments on them.  

Here’s how I make them…

  • I preheat my oven first.  You want your oven ready when you’re ready.  With this recipe, you’ll set your oven at 325 degrees. 
  • Get your two round cake pans ready. I trace and cut pieces of parchment paper to line the bottom of the pans. Then spray the sides with cooking spray (I use butter flavored).  This may seem like “overkill”, but since it’s a naked cake, you want your sides to look as pretty as possible.
  • Now you’re ready to make your cake batter.  This is so easy. You just “amp up” a cake mix. You may think it’s cheating, but the result is delicious. 

Ingredients:

  • I box dark chocolate fudge cake mix (without pudding in the mix)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 small box instant chocolate pudding

Directions: 

  1. Place all ingredients in stand mixer and mix well, approximately 3 minutes. 
  2. Pour equal amounts into pans and carefully spread evenly in pan…try not to move the parchment paper while spreading. The batter will be thick like a brownie batter. 
  3. Bake in the oven until your toothpick or fork comes out clean. Mine takes about 40 minutes, but I suggest that you start checking yours at about 25 minutes. 
  4. Let cool in pan for about 15-30 minutes then carefully loosen the sides of the cakes from the pans and remove the cakes from the pans and place in the freezer.  Freezing the cakes makes them so much easier to frost.  Plus, it seems to help retain some of the moisture in the cake. 

After your cakes are good and cold (they don’t have to be rock hard), you can start your buttercream frosting.  Yes, I know, some prefer whipped cream frosting these days, but I’m an old-fashioned sugar-laden frosting girl. I don’t want a “fluffy”, light frosting. I want some good heavy, sugar frosting.  Of course, if you prefer, use a whipped cream frosting. I’m sure it would be great on this cake as well. 

Here’s how I make the buttercream frosting…

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks of softened salted butter (the salted butter helps bring out the sweetness of the sugar)
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons of milk 

Directions:

  1. Cream the butter in the stand mixer until creamy. 
  2. Add 2 cups of the powdered sugar and mix. Be sure to start your mixer off slow, otherwise you’ll have a “sweet” cloud around you! πŸ˜„
  3. Next, add the vanilla extract and milk and mix. 
  4. Finish off by adding the remaining 2 cups of the powdered sugar and mix until the frosting is completely combined and has the consistency you wish.  If needed, you can add a little more milk. 

Not difficult at all, right?  Here’s how I put the cake together…

  • When your frosting is ready, remove the cake you are placing on the bottom from the freezer and set it on the serving plate.  Using just a “smidge” less than half of the frosting, frost the bottom half. 
  • Place your sliced strawberries on the frosted bottom half. 
  • Now pull your second cake out of the freezer.  Before setting it on top off the bottom half, spread just a small amount of frosting on the bottom half of the top cake. This will act as “glue” to help prevent the top half from sliding off of the bottom half. 
  • Use the remaining frosting to frost the top half and place your sliced strawberries on top and…you’re done!! 🍰

There you go!!  A yummy “Neopolitan” cake!  Chocolate, vanilla and strawberry deliciousness!  Enjoy!! ❀️

*I store the cake in the fridge to prevent the frosting from melting. 

Leave a Reply

