Sssshhhh…Hush…Puppies

  

Hi there!  I hope your week is off to a great start. It’s officially the first Monday of summer!

A couple of weeks ago on the first Monday of my sons’ summer, we were taking a ride along the river and the topic of Long John Silver’s came up.  Yes, we have very random conversations while riding in the car. My oldest son loves a captive audience just as much as I do 🙂

Back to the subject, though.  We were talking about how much we love their food, especially the hush puppies, and how much we miss having one close to our home. The closest one is around 150 miles away 😦

Well, guess what all the talk about hush puppies did?  Yep! You got it!  It most definitely gave me a hankering for some of those glorious balls of deliciousness.  

So, as I’ve learned to do many times over since moving here, I decided that I needed to try to make some myself since there isn’t anywhere near by to get them.  And off to Pinterest I went. 

I found a recipe that I could make work with the ingredients I had on hand.  The following recipe is the one I used with my substitutions. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup white cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon salt (this made them good and salty, you may want to use less)
  • 2 heaping teaspoons baking powder 
  • 2 teaspoons garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 medium onion, grated
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice plus enough milk to make 1 cup (this is a substitution for buttermilk that I’ve used for years)

Directions:

  1. Stir the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Then stir in the beaten egg and onion. 
  2. Pour in small amounts of the “buttermilk” until it moistens the batter enough so that small amounts will drop off of a tablespoon easily.  The amount of “buttermilk” you will use will depend upon your climate.   
  3. Heat your oil (I used canola oil) in a heavy skillet until a small drop sizzles. 
  4. Drop the batter in the oil using a tablespoon, leaving plenty of room for each one to cook.   
  5. Cook until golden brown and use a slotted spoon to remove the “puppies” from the oil. 
  6. Drain on a plate with paper towels.  

 

As  you can see, my hush puppies don’t look exactly like the ones from Long John’s (they look like baby fried biscuits). This is partially because I only had white cornmeal and because I only had enough canola oil  to have about an inch in the skillet. The lighter part of the puppy was still crispy and the taste was amazing! 

I am so happy that my boys inspired me to make them.  They are quick, easy and fun. Now we can have hush puppies no matter where the closest Long John’s may be.  ❤

Leave a Reply

